Hiweb بوکیار - دانلود کتاب های انگلیسی دانشگاهی و علمی

George Eliot

George Eliot


Mary Ann Evans (22 November 1819 – 22 December 1880; alternatively "Mary Anne" or "Marian"), known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Middlemarch (1871–72), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight. She used a male pen name, she said, to ensure her works would be taken seriously. Female authors were published under their own names during Eliot's life, but she wanted to escape the stereotype of women only writing lighthearted romances. She also wished to have her fiction judged separately from her already extensive and widely known work as an editor and critic. An additional factor in her use of a pen name may have been a desire to shield her private life from public scrutiny and to prevent scandals attending her relationship with the married George Henry Lewes, with whom she lived for over 20 years. Her 1872 work Middlemarch has been described by Martin Amis[2] and Julian Barnes[3] as the greatest novel in the English language.

دوست دارم
نام واقعی:
تاریخ تولد:
محل تولد:
وب سایت:
تاریخ درگذشت:

معرفی کتاب

آیا کتابی را می‌شناسید که در کتابناک موجود است اما در اینجا فهرست نشده؟
لینک کتاب:
نوع ارتباط:

کتاب‌های محبوب

1842 دریافت
1533 دریافت
1432 دریافت
شرح نزولیصعودی زبان
تاریخ نزولیصعودی دریافت نزولیصعودی امتیاز نزولیصعودی حجم

Brother Jacob

Brother Jacob is Eliot's literary homage to Thackeray, a satirical modern fable that draws telling parallels between eating and reading. Revealing Eliot's deep ..

انگلیسی ۲۷.۱۰.۱۳۹۴, ۱۳:۰۷
4.7 از 5
(3 رای)
381,64 کیلوبایت

The Lifted Veil

Published the same year as her first novel, Adam Bede, this overlooked work displays the gifts for which George Eliot would become famous—gritty realism, psyc..

انگلیسی ۰۹.۱۱.۱۳۹۴, ۱۴:۰۸
4.6 از 5
(5 رای)
353,41 کیلوبایت


One of George Eliot's most ambitious and imaginative novels, Romola is set in Renaissance Florence during the turbulent years following the expulsion of the pow..

انگلیسی ۰۶.۱۱.۱۳۹۴, ۱۷:۲۶
4 از 5
(6 رای)
2,66 مگابایت

Adam Bede

Hailed for its sympathetic and accurate rendering of nineteenth-century English pastoral life, Adam Bede was George Eliot's first full-length novel and a bestse..

انگلیسی ۰۲.۱۱.۱۳۹۴, ۰۲:۴۵
4.8 از 5
(4 رای)
2,54 مگابایت

Daniel Deronda

George Eliot’s final novel and her most ambitious work, Daniel Deronda contrasts the moral laxity of the British aristocracy with the dedicated fervor of Jewi..

انگلیسی ۲۵.۱۰.۱۳۹۴, ۰۱:۴۰
5 از 5
(5 رای)
3,43 مگابایت

Silas Marner

Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe is the third novel by George Eliot, published in 1861. An outwardly simple tale of a linen weaver, it is notable for its str..

انگلیسی ۰۴.۱۱.۱۳۹۴, ۱۵:۱۲
4.8 از 5
(4 رای)
0,99 مگابایت

The Mill on the Floss

The Mill on the Floss is a novel by George Eliot (Mary Ann Evans), first published in three volumes in 1860 by William Blackwood. The first American edition was..

انگلیسی ۲۹.۱۰.۱۳۹۴, ۱۷:۴۷
4.4 از 5
(7 رای)
2,66 مگابایت


Middlemarch, A Study of Provincial Life is a novel by English author George Eliot, first published in eight instalments (volumes) during 1871–2. The novel is ..

انگلیسی ۲۲.۱۰.۱۳۹۴, ۱۵:۳۵
4.8 از 5
(5 رای)
3,63 مگابایت

Powered by You